Search HipHopStories

Saturday, February 9, 2013


Album Features Guest Appearances By Black Thought (The Roots), Travie McCoy (Gym Class Heroes), Emily Haines (Metric), Corey Hart, Sebastien Grainger (Death From Above 1979) and more

February 7, 2013 (Los Angeles, CA) -- Nettwerk Records is excited to announce the two-disc release from the award-winning and incredibly talented Canadian hip-hop artist k-os.  k-os digitally releases BLack On BLonde in the US through Crown Loyalist/Nettwerk Records.  The double album is a cohesive collection of two records; one of rock tunes and the other of old-school hip hop jams.

Watch The Official Music Video For "NYCE 2 Know Ya" Here:

Recorded at Hayden Christensen’s deserted Laurel Canyon mansion, BLack on BLonde is the most personal and revealing album of his career. “My friends say this is the record I’ve been waiting my whole life to make, there’s a confidence now,” says k-os. “People don’t generally want to take things too far.  And I felt trapped by my birth into the music industry as a hippy or folk hip-hop singer; I’m over that feeling.  It was time to delve deep and write an album (or two) that truly reflects all facets of myself.  This album is a celebration of that.”

BLack on BLonde features exciting collaborations from a varied array of guests, including Black Thought (The Roots), Travie McCoy (Gym Class Heroes), Emily Haines (Metric), Corey Hart, Sebastien Grainger (Death From Above 1979), Juno Award-winning Canadian rock singer/songwriter Sam Roberts and many others.  Always innovative, provocative and fearless,k-os showcases said versatility by singing and playing drums, guitar and bass throughout the album.

Listen To Selections From The Album Here:

 The multi-talented and twice-Platinum k-os has toured with Drake, won a Source Award, multiple Juno and Much Music Video Awards (with a staggering combined 34 nominations!), and is Grammy-nominated for his collaboration with The Chemical Brothers on their single “Get Yourself High.”  Despite these successes, k-os continues to challenge himself, saying, “I consider myself to be hip hop’s first alternative/emo-rapper and now it feels like the game’s finally caught up to me.” 

In the coming weeks, stay tuned for information.

Track Listing:

Disc 1

1.     Like A Comet (We Rollin’) feat. Corey Hart
2.     Diamond Sky
3.     NYCE 2 Know Ya
4.     C.L.A. feat. Travie McCoy
5.     Nobody Else
6.     One Time feat. Haines Vox
7.     Mojo On
8.     Try Again feat. Black Thought
9.     MTV
10.  Spraying My Pen feat. Saukrates and Shad

Disc 2

1.     The Dog Is Mine
2.     Don’t Touch feat. Sam Roberts
3.     Alone In My Car
4.     Put Down Your Phone!
5.     Billy Bragg Winners feat. Jay Malinowski
6.     Surf’s Up feat. Sebastien Grainger
7.     Play This Game
8.     Wonder Woman (As My Guitar Gently Streets)
9.     BLondes

Enhanced by Zemanta

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...